Commendations for service at the National Honors and Awards Ceremony






On Thursday night at the Bliss Center for the Performing Arts the nation handed out 19 commendations for service as part of the annual National Honors and Awards. There are six categories of which only two Belizeans have earned the highest honor of National Hero: Rt. Hon. George Price and Hon. Philip Goldson. The third highest honor, the Order of Distinction,

was also the highest handed out last night, to the late Colonel Donald Fairweather posthumously) for service in communications and national defence as founder of the first national radio station ZIK2 and officer in the British Honduras Territorial Force and commandant of the volunteer guard in addition to other public and religious work. The other honoree

is Reverend Charles David Goff of the Methodist Church, a long-time minister and clergyman. There were seventeen honorees given the Meritorious Service Award, and leading that list are footballers

Ian Gaynair and Woodrow West. The two young men have received numerous honors for their courage and integrity off the field in resisting match-fixing bribes and on the field where Gaynair was the only goalscorer in the CONCACAF Gold Cup and West stood in goal versus Cuba and Costa Rica. Other sports persons honored include deceased footballer Louis Anton io “The Mugger” Garbutt and softball manager Raymond Lashley. The other honorees are: Rafael Contreras, Raymond Gongora, Victorino Chin, the late Herbert Eiley, Andrew Wigmore, Gwendolyn Zetina, comedienne Lauren Burgess Eagan, Victoria Cunningham, Angela Casey, Mary Eleanor Tillett and Altagracia Alvarez, Alma Eiley and Jessie Young for their community efforts in varied fields. The awards are given by the Governor General Sir Colville Young on the advice of Prime Minister Dean Barrow.

About the Author