Maya Lands Right commission Appointed

Comment are off

vlcsnap-2016-01-12-19h14m17s401The Attorney General and Minister for Legal Affairs, Honorable Vanessa Retreage, with responsibility for the Toledo Maya Land Rights Commission, officially appointed the Members of the Commission on January 11, 2016.   The Office of the Commission will be located at the Attorney General’s Ministry in Belmopan City and is comprised of the following members:. Lisel Alamilla as Chairman,  and members Mrs. P. Noreen Fairweather, and Mr. Randall Sheppard (Crown Counsel from within the Attorney General’s Ministry). The Ministry has also engaged Mr. Anthony Ross, a highly regarded attorney with substantial experience in Indigenous Affairs, as expert Consultant to the Commission. The primary responsibility of the Commission is to implement the Consent Order of the Caribbean Court of Justice, which requires Government to adopt affirmative measures to identify and protect the rights arising from Maya customary land tenure. A press release from Government press office says that  “ this Commission will establish a structured framework that will ensure collaborative consultation and participation of key stakeholders, mainly focusing on the twenty three villages, including Conejo and Santa Cruz, the Maya Leaders Alliance, and the Toledo Alcalde Association, consistent with the rulings of the Caribbean Court of Justice.” The release ends by saying that the Government of Belize is committed to act in good faith throughout this process to ensure resolution of all issues in relation to this matter.

About the Author